CANSail Program

Sail Canada – formerly the Canadian Yachting Association (CYA) – launched CANSail in 2012. CANSail refers to Canada’s updated sailor training standards. The CANSail dinghy programming was developed under the framework of Long Term Sailor Development, and has been designed with the sailor’s age and developmental stage in mind.

CANSail programming is designed to be a set of progressive Learn-to-Sail standards focused on providing sailors with a solid foundation of core skills. The CANSail system allows sailors to learn and progress and consolidate key skills before adding more complex skills.  More information can be found on the Sail Canada CANSail webpage. 

Sailors who have trained under the old system can enter the CanSail program at an equivalent level.

Old CYA Program New CANSail  Program
White Sail I CANSail  1
White Sail II   and III CANSail 2
Bronze IV CANSail 3
Bronze V CANSail 4 & Introduction to Chutes & Wires
Silver VI CANSail 5
Gold VII CANSail 6